Jim Hill River Walk on Snow Shoes

IMG_2513.JPG

The Jim Hill River Walk is still used in winter.  I found fresh cross-country ski trails  but I made the first snow shoe tracks.  I was actually passes by a mountain bike with those huge wide tires!

IMG_2512.JPGIMG_2511.JPG

The winter makes it easy to see animal tracks, the top being Whitetail Deer and the bottom a mystery to me.

IMG_2517.JPG

The frozen Contoocook River is not safe in my opinion, but this ice fisherman didn’t see it that way.  Snow shoeing is harder work than I remembered, and I fell once.  Getting up in deep snow it very difficult.  Plan a shorter loop than you usually walk until you have been out a few times.

Leave a Reply

